If at first you don’t succeed, skydiving definitely isn’t for you

Unfortunately for me, 5 of the most important people in my life live on the other side of the world. My Auntie Mary-Anne, Uncle Shaun and cousins, Lachlan, Larly and Ana live in Grafton in New South Wales and I don’t go a day without wishing I could see them. But them living there does give me and my family the perfect excuse to visit Australia.

My last visit was with my family for 5 weeks throughout December 2010 and January 2011. And whilst I was there I decided to do the highest sky dive in Australia, at 14,000ft landing on the beach.

When my Dad first asked me I didn’t really give the idea much thought and accepted the invitation with alacrity. It wasn’t until the phone had been hung up and the date was confirmed that I realised what I’d just put myself in for.

Straight away I open up my laptop and within seconds of hitting ‘search’ Google tells me that around 35 people a year die of parachute fails in America alone. Suddenly my mind starts wandering…

A few sleepless nights later, I’m there, signing forms to say that I wouldn’t sue the company if I were injured and that nobody in my family could sue them if I died.

When I was up in the plane it was a rollercoaster of emotions. Being a very impatient individual the boredom of waiting around till we were high enough to jump was leering, but was quickly interrupted by frissons of thrill, nerves and straight to the point,“am I going to die?”.

As you can imagine looking out of the window to try and distract my thoughts didn’t help either. About 90% of what I could see was the ocean and when you’re hovering about 3 miles above it, aware that within a few minutes you’re going to be free falling towards it, the beautiful, serene and halcyon era that the ocean usually creates doesn’t seem to be there anymore… all I could see were sharks.

Sitting on the edge of the plane I looked down, swallowed hard and thought to myself ‘It must be alright, thousands of people of done it before’, and then… ‘But this time it’s me- that’s the difference!.’ And I’m out…

Freefalling for 60 seconds, relying on some guy you’ve just met an hour ago to pull the parachute and save your life is unexplainable. But one thing I can tell you is that the 60 seconds I spent freefalling from a plane, over the Australian ocean, with a stomach full of butterflies and the idea that the rest of my family were either watching me from the plane or experiencing it too were the 60 best seconds of my life. And unless I got to do it all over again, strapped to Juan Mata, I don’t think I could ever create a minute of my life to come anywhere near.

No matter how grandiloquent I am with my choice of words, the experience of Skydiving really is inexpressible. I feel like I’m trying to paint you a picture of a rainbow with only black and white paint.

So if you’re reading this whilst sitting on the fence about a decision to sky dive, I dare you, you won’t regret it.

SKYDIVE

25 thoughts on “If at first you don’t succeed, skydiving definitely isn’t for you

  1. Awesome read. Nothing like your first skydive

  2. I’m so pleased you had a great first jump. Are you going to continue and do your AFF?

  3. wow your brave im scared of heights good for you.

  4. Excellent! Loved reading about skydiving from an ‘ordinary’ person’s point of view! My daughter is autistic, so she had a slightly different experience – still got nervous, but didn’t dwell on it before, and hardly speaks of it now, less than a week later! 🙂

  5. Really nice ;D thanks for your comment!

  6. Hi.. Thanks for commenting on my post and for directing me to yours, what a great read. Funny and interesting, grab life by the seat of the pants and you’ll have adventures like this forever.

  7. Great post. One thing I’d love to do but no while my kids are so small. Well done xx

  8. Ha ha, this did make me chuckle, Juan Mata is awesome!! I am ridiculously afraid of heights, but will never say never when it comes to a skydive… I think 😛

  9. hehe love the title of this blog entry!

    I assume you jumped from Mission Beach?? Which i had the guts to do this, but at the same time i’m fine with my two feets on the ground

    Jump on! 🙂

  10. Nicely written. I like how you painted a picture with your words. Congrats on your skydive. The feeling is always fun, but not as emotional as the first jump.

  11. Great read! Although I don’t fancy doing a bungee, skydiving sounds incredible…

  12. thank you for your sweet comment on my blog. I love the sound of this – I’m scared of heights, and I thought bouldering was a good way to combat that. skydiving sounds infinitely superior. I accept your dare!

  13. thanks for the follow over at my little blog. I headed on over and obviously had to read this one first. You describe the experience far more eloquently than I could ever dream of. I love “I feel like I am trying to paint you a rainbow with only black and white paint.” That just sums up how I feel when trying to explain the experience. It is one of those things in life that you can never truly express to somebody who has never done it themselves.
    Off to read more of your blog now. Cant wait

  14. Love it! You make me wanna try skydiving although I’m terrified of heights. Hopefully one day I’ll conjure up the courage! Well done! X

  15. Good for you! I don’t think I’d have the courage to jump out of a plane!

  16. Thanks for the kind comment Zoe. Your posts are amazing, I have a lot to learn from you!
    Sky diving sound so fun, I think I will have to add it to my bucket list. Hahaha

    Looking forward to your next post! 🙂

  17. Ah! That brings back memories! Can’t say they were pleasant ones, however, I have been a bit of an adrenaline junkie since.

  18. Hi, Thanks for your comment on my post! Happy to hear that you liked it! Seems like you had an awesome skydiving experience as well – there really is nothing like the feeling you get that moment when you jump out of that plane! Keep up the good work with your blog 🙂

  19. Glad you got a nice day for it…. doing it through rain hurt!!
    Well done! 🙂

  20. This was a lovely read and I could soooooo relate to it! Jumping out of the plane is possibly one of the best decisions I’ve made. And no one told me the adrenaline rush is addictive – I’d do it again in a heartbeat!

    PS: thanks for following my blog. 🙂

  21. Hey, sorry I’m only getting to read this now. I really enjoyed reading it now though! I’m glad you enjoyed the skydive 🙂 I guess you really don’t know until you’re doing it just how you’ll feel about it

Leave a Reply

