Good morning America

Really struggling to find time to blog at the moment, but today I set my alarm an hour earlier than I needed so that I could write a post on yesterday, which was easily one of the best days of my life.

I should probably start off by saying I’m not in England, I am in fact laying in an air conditioned room, lit by nothing but the scorching sunshine, still a few hours before my breakfast, whilst everyone in the UK would be digging into their Lunch, in Orlando, America.

Not only is Lewis a dream to be with but his parents, Kate and Colin, are two of the most generous people in the world. For Lewis’ 21st his parents said they’d take him to Florida, as it’s his favourite place in the world and that they wanted me to go with them. So here I am, nursing sunburn, after just one full day In America.

Yesterday was our first day and after waking up at 7am, partly because my body clock has no idea what’s going on, but also because I was too excited to sleep again, we headed to Denny’s. Denny’s as Colin always says is “The best place to go for breakfast because all the police go there”. Although there were no policeman parked outside and I struggled to fit through the door on the way out, I had one of the best breakfasts ever.

Looking at the menu and around at all the Americas, I realised that a full English at least double the size we normally eat at home, alongside a side of 4 pancakes drowned in butter cream and maple syrup is ‘your average breakfast’.

So after a few minutes deliberating I decided to give the American way of life a go, as I should. I ordered what were called ‘Puppies’, balls of pancake batter, coated in sugar and cinamon, deep fried and, of course, swimming in maple syrup. And my gosh, take me back. (I also had a bacon English muffin, because a breakfast isn’t breakfast without a bit of bacon).

We then planned on popping to Universal, “for just a few rides”. Within minutes of arriving that all changed. Kate and Colin decided to treat us all to get unlimited fast pass on every ride at both parks, I felt so bad and guilty. But there was no time to, we had just over 9 hours, till the park closed, to go absolutely crazy. And so we did.

Im not going to sit here and describe every ride because we’ll be here for days, but my favourite three were The Simpsons, Hulk and Popeye and Bulto’s Bilge-Rat Barges. Regrettably we begun on Hulk, less than an hour after I’d demolished my breakfast. But it was amazing. Your typical fast, loop-de-loop, upside down ride.

We did Popeye’s ride about midday, meaning that around 8 hours later, when we left the park, we were only slightly damp. This ride is when ten people sit In a circle facing inwards, and ride down the rapids, it was so exciting as you had no idea how soaked you were going to get round the next corner. Plus, Colin clearly sat in the daring seat and came off the ride absolutely drenched, haha.

The Simpsons is more of a 4D simulator ride, and its absolutely incredible. Made me tummy go, like it does on a normal roller coaster, even though I was barely moving.

We then watched the Cinematic experience when the park closed which involved water falling, creating patterns and images, celebrating 100 years of Universal. Once this had finished, we left the park with only two parks unridden, and within minutes of my head touching the pillow I was fast asleep.

Yesterday was an absolutely amazing day, and I can’t wait to go back there. I am an extremely lucky girl and still have 13 days of this!

Speak soon xxxxxx

20130613-131633.jpg

Leave a Reply

